Vancouver Taxi Talk

Price Tags

873682_original

Local developer, writer and resident Michael Geller has written a compelling commentary in the Vancouver Courier about Vancouver’s lack of taxi culture.

Talking about taxis is interesting. Everyone has a strong reaction to the topic. I have to admit my bias-I love taking taxis anywhere in the world, but not in Vancouver. I have taken a taxi driven by a famous jazz musician in Chicago, and been driven by the coach of the British Olympic Rowing Team in London. Perhaps the best experience was a cab driver in Nevis that taught me Nevis’ National Anthem during the ride.

In Vancouver, the city regulates taxi cabs. There is a taxi cab detail at the Vancouver Police Department, and you can call 311 and report bad behaviour of cab drivers. I have had cab drivers follow my car home when they felt I had cut them off in my car, and I…

View original post 555 more words

Leave a Reply

